Beautiful Cartoons

Do you still watch cartoons?  At this point I’m not rushing out to see the latest animated film, but if I happen upon one I haven’t seen I’ll watch it.  And, somewhere in the back of my head I have a list.  A list of beautiful cartoons.  Many films win graphic awards because they’ve invented new technology to illustrate something or other but this list not looking at the technical.  These are the films that take my breath away regardless of the story and that, in my book, is hard to do.

Do you have a list of beautiful animations? If so please share! Here’s my list:

1.  The Secret of Kells- directors Tomm More & Nora Twomey (2009)

One thing you should know about me is that I love Medieval art.  So I found the subject matter interesting, but it was the illustrations that took my breath away. The landscapes alone are enough to make anyone drool, but it was the attention to detail that elevated the artists of this film to top notch status.  The way the abbot’s breath was visible on a cold morning, the light coming through the branches landing on the characters faces or the way a finger runs down a quill all reflect the understanding of life…absolutly fascinating.  I knew in the first 10 minutes of this film that the illustrations were extraordinary.

Still from The Secret of Kells

Still from The Secret of Kells

Still from The Secret of Kells

Still from The Secret of Kells

Still from The Secret of Kells

Still from The Secret of Kells

Still from The Secret of Kells

Still from The Secret of Kells

2. Up– directors  Pete Docter & Bob Peterson (2009)

Sadly I cannot find any images online that reflect why I think this film is beautiful.  Don’t get me wrong, the promotional images from this film are fine, but it’s the house’s interior, not the balloons or jungle why this movie makes my list.  The amount of texture in the house is stunning.  After scouring the web I found this image on a wallpaper site, but it doesn’t do it justice.  You can see however the texture in the chair verses the subtle warp and weft in the pants or the highlights on the medicine bottle versus the coffee cup as both objects have different reflective amounts…  oh such great variety.  In someways the house is more “real” than the characters.  I bet a thesis can be written about that.

Still from the movie Up

Still from the movie Up

3. Persepolis- Marjane Satrapi & Vincent Paronnaud (2007)

This is the most serious film on the list.  It was illustrated by Marjane Strapi and it is her story about growing up during the Iranian revolution.  Not exactly a children’s film, this black and white film is beautiful in it’s color palette.  The color choice adds to the story line, adding an almost timeless quality to the animation.    In comparison this film has more rudimentary drawing than the other two on this list, but I like the propaganda feel to this film.   This movie is originally in French.

Still from Persepolis

Still from Persepolis

Still from Persepolis

Still from Persepolis

Still from Persepolis

Still from Persepolis

Leave a Reply

